Breaking Curses

Curse : the expression of a wish that misfortune, evil, doom, etc., befall person, group, etc.

(dictionary.com)

It just would not seem right to not say something about the HISTORICAL WIN Chicago is celebrating at this time. Yes, I am talking about the CHICAGO CUBS WINNING THE WORLD SERIES AFTER A 108 CURSE THAT SEEMED LIKE IT WOULD NEVER END AND NOW I FEEL LIKE THERE IS SOMETHING WORTH CELEBRATING THAT DOES NOT INVOLVE HATE IN CHI-TOWN REGARDLESS IF I AM A BASEBALL BANDWAGON FAN OR NOT.

** rant over**

you-still-mad-bro-meme-12

Now that I have calmed down…

It feels so good to be in a time such as this where history is being made in such gigantic ways. One of them just happens to be the sport of baseball. As insignificant as that may seem to some non-sporty readers, stay with me. I have a point to make.

Let me reiterate. It has been 108 years (as of the year 2016) since they have been in the championships. Their losing streak outlived most of our grandparents! Also may I add that it was tied 6 to 6 during the last inning, 6 days before the presidential election, and there was a rain delay….talk about a disruption in the universe. This win was not going to happen without some obstacles and stress.

babe-ruth

However I am not here to just talk about the CUBS and their winning. Although that is a gigantic milestone and since I am from the Chicago-land I feel I have aright to donate my 2 cents for the celebration party. Anyways….. There is a bigger picture . The CURSE was BROKEN.

As I think more and more into this, it amazes me how many examples can stem from this topic. Whether is a make believe situation like HOLES ( one of my favorite movies) or something that is quite real in your family. Curses can be broken.

holes-2003-1

Confession: I have a fascination with celebrities. All of them. I can admit that it is a challenge to understand why certain people acquire so much fame but there is also a handful of people who did start from the bottom and now they are…well here.

Keeping Up with the Kardashians
The Kardashians
duck-dynasty-cast__130813194923-575x383
Duck Dynasty

Those are the people who started off with practically nothing whether it be money , family , legal documents , knowledge of languages, or even physical mobility and yet we know them today as heroes.

One of the too true things about society is that they can label you faster then they could tell you all 50 states in America. Are they always wrong? Unfortunately…no. Why?because it has been proven time and time again that their assumptions are true. My question is what happens when people try to breakout from that and continuously strive for better…for greater?  No matter how long it could actually takes?

It took the CUBS 108 years to go from label “lovable losers” to WINNERS. What if we all wanted but also tried for the same thing?

cubs-win-world-series_fullsize_story1

One of the saddest things I heard is talking to a fellow employee about some choices of a lifestyle he was choosing. It really hit me hard when he confessed about expecting a child soon and not planning on being committed to the relationship of  to the mother of was his unborn child. Although this story is very common, it was what he said that was hard to hear. His excuse was that he never saw  good example of marriage before. I asked ” Why not break that cycle …be that example..that change?”  He replied “What is the point of breaking the cycle? It is already there?” What I interpreted from that is it was easier to follow an example he was already familiar with then to try and do something completely foreign from the norm.

Don’t get me wrong when I say it is not easy. Why should it be? I believe the greatest victories come from the hardest fights. These fights have no time limit. It takes some healing , acceptance, passion etc. to get you where you want to be. However, why choose to stay in a dark place when the brighter place is waiting for you. Not to be insensitive to any specific cases of real trauma , abuse , and disabilities that are legitimate setbacks for people, but there are actually existing examples of others whom decided not carry a curse but to break through the bondage.

I want to make the important point that you also do not have to do it on your own. I hope you know that. If you want a better outcome in life you can seek out like-minded people who can relate to your story and want to also break out just as much as you do. That support may not come from your peers or even family for that matter. As hard as that can be to accept that does not make your freedom impossible. It just means you sometimes you have to learn how to except that and love people from afar.  Of course I also believe that if you have spiritual beliefs or not, God does play a part. Unexplained miracles do happen. Every little bit does count.

This blog post may not have the best flow but just know that I am proud to celebrate something  and not be in mourning. Also I believe that there is power in and around us that can destroy anything that restrains us from being great.

Lastly…

GO VOTE. This election is immense. 2016 is such a tremendous year. The time we are living in is massive. Be a part of it.

vote_2016

J

 

Leave a Reply

