5 January 2017

This month went by too fast. What in the world? The first month of the new year is over.

Where do I start? Well, for one I had a birthday!

It was a lovely day. Considering it was my first birthday away from home and any blood relatives. I guess there was a theme going on because that’s how the holidays were as well. However, just like all those holidays, MY day was delectable.

img_0883

15936807_10207834064272731_7590586896784968192_o

16112537_10207834063832720_1767965579017333666_o

I basically received the best of all the foods for breakfast, lunch , and dinner. The menu included chocolate chip pancakes , homemade chicken pot pie, and the food from True Foods Kitchen [ http://www.truefoodkitchen.com/ ]. In between time I received a lot of love from people in three states I have called home. Ending the day with some Jack Black and Glee was icing on the cake ( or more like a cookie brownie that was made in honor of two birthdays from a friend. ha! )

Another memorable moment of the month was discovering Redwood City! It was quite the interesting city and then throw in some rain and you have an adventure. I was wet.

15994400_10207834064232730_6276141445161041203_o
Our faces being pelted by rain.

This was also the day I discovered WORLD MARKET. Has anyone been there? Tell me why I thought it was a grocery store? Food is actually the least of what they have. It is a market full of exotic pieces influenced by designs from around the world. Yes, it is a tad more bougie then my wallet was willing to sacrifice , but now I know where to shop for Christmas gifts. In that store is where we decided to catch a movie which required snacks. We bought them at World Market, then smuggled them in.

Image result for movie theater snacks memes    Image result for movie theater snacks memes

We concluded our adventure with the movie “Passengers” starring Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence. The movie was about a ship full of people sleeping in individual pods for about 120 years to start life on a new planet. One pod malfunctions and wakes up a passenger 90 years early. He then wakes up another passenger, because his loneliness becomes overwhelming. They fall in love and save the ship from exploding. Interesting movie. I must say that the technological advances were intriguing and the on-screen chemistry was sweet.

passengers-movie-3

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This month as a group we have been reading a book called DARING GREATLY by Brene Brown. This book has a powerful overall message on vulnerability and shame. At first I was annoyed at the idea of reading it, but as I invested more time into it. It got to me.

daring_greatly_web

Here are 10 key points in the reading that resonated with me and I hope they shake you up as well.

Vulnerability sounds like truth and feels like courage.

Vulnerability feels so awkward and scary, but it makes me human and alive.

We love seeing raw truth and openness in other people, but we’re afraid to let them see it in us.

Vulnerability is based on mutuality and requires boundaries and trust.

The only people who don’t experience shame lack the capacity for empathy and human connection.

Shame is the fear of disconnection. 

People believe they deserve their shame; they do not believe they deserve their humiliation. 

We can only love others as much as we love ourselves.

Joy comes to us in moments-ordinary moments. We risk missing out on joy when we get too busy chasing down the extraordinary. 

and the one that stuck on me the most…

march-madness-let-go-of-perfect

 

Above all the wonderful things that happened this month, the most remarkable thing had to be visiting LOS ANGELES!

Me OH my, I like that place.

I was blessed to be connected by a dear friend to another friend who was a resident of the area. I brought along my roommate too. Together we became a band. I have a picture to explain that.

album2-2-1318-1
Guess who the Beyonce is?

 

Here is some advice. If you ever go anywhere unfamiliar connect with a RESIDENT. They can enlighten you SO MUCH better then any pamphlet of a top 10 website. TRUST ME.

I thought that I wanted to write about everything that I did there, but honestly that could go on for days so I will give you the short version.

I got to see so much. All in a matter of four days!! I’ll just let all the

DAY 1

DAY 2

DAY 3

Day 4

Such a reviving trip.

This month was an excellent kick-start to get inspired on striving to make goals happen. There has always been a lot of things that I wanted to do, but was overwhelmed with how to get things started. Now that the thrill of so many festivities has died down, I had a stronger focus. I can make things happen, but I have to put in the work and make responsible choices.

Easier said then done, but not impossible.

-JV

 

 

Image result for quotes about goals

3 thoughts on “5 January 2017

Leave a Reply

